Love Constant Beyond Death by Francisco Gomez de Quevedo (1580-1645)


 

The metaphysical endurance of love after death is captured beautifully here by Quevedo, who by the age of just 23 was an acclaimed poet.

The final shadow that will close my eyes
will in its darkness take me from white day
and instantly untie the soul from lies
and flattery of death, and find its way
and yet my soul won’t leave its memory
of love there on the shore where it has burned:
my flame can swim cold water and has learned
to lose respect for laws’ severity.
My soul, whom a God made his prison of,
my veins, which a liquid humour fed to fire,
my marrows, which have gloriously flamed,
will leave their body, never their desire;
they will be ash but ash in feeling framed;
they will be dust but will be dust in love.

 

Francisco Gomez de Quevedo

tr. Willis Barnstone

via The Boipoet

About Jez Farmer

I am a freelance writer and poet and started writing after raising my two boys as a way of discovering just who Jez is. That is still very much an on-going project but the journey so far has introduced me to many wonderful friends and fellow writers through an ever growing love of poetry.
This entry was posted in 17th Century Poets, 17th Century Poets, Poetry, Quondom Poetics, Selected Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for reading, your comments are much appreciated