Taking Control


The truth of heart and truth of gods
Whispers inside the soul
Only heard when life is at odds
Invisible that makes me whole
Mere words cannot describe
This thing the mind cannot control
Echoes of truth I dare to hear
To stand with pride and face the fear
To walk away from calls of tribe
That declares truth is wrong
Deny their words, refuse the bribe
So I can sing aloud my song
My life and it’s my way
For today I have become strong

© JG Farmer 2016

Form: Cerispring Sonnet

About Jez Farmer

I am a freelance writer and poet and started writing after raising my two boys as a way of discovering just who Jez is. That is still very much an on-going project but the journey so far has introduced me to many wonderful friends and fellow writers through an ever growing love of poetry.
This entry was posted in Form Poetry, Life, Poetry, Sonnets and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for reading, your comments are much appreciated