Cold Night


The hardest words come when we say goodbye
The night seems colder as I watch you go
For in my heart the hidden tears always cry

Just moments before I kissed your soft sigh
Holding you close in the street’s amber glow
The hardest words come when we say goodbye

My eyes darken as if they can deny
The pain of parting love has come to know
For in my heart the hidden tears always cry

With time on my hands I watch the night sky
While daring my thoughts to say it is so
The hardest words come when we say goodbye

The minutes like hours when time will not fly
Until once more you set my soul aglow
For in my heart the hidden tears always cry

But still I smile knowing I am your guy
And our time apart leaves me feeling low
The hardest words come when we say goodbye
For in my heart the hidden tears always cry

 

©JG Farmer 2015

Form: Villanelle

Copyrighted.com Registered & Protected XHXN-ALIR-TXVH-K6CZ

About Jez Farmer

I am a freelance writer and poet and started writing after raising my two boys as a way of discovering just who Jez is. That is still very much an on-going project but the journey so far has introduced me to many wonderful friends and fellow writers through an ever growing love of poetry.
This entry was posted in A Poet's Palm, Form Poetry, Love, Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cold Night

Thank you for reading, your comments are much appreciated

