Lift My Head


The air is dark and heavy with love’s tears
My arms are empty with no-one to hold
As the night brings me my most hidden fears
My body shakes no longer feeling bold
I am alone, alone as terror nears
Alone like a child left out in the cold
Unable to feel you’re laid next to me
Unable to see you’re there next to me
And words die on my lips, I cannot speak
My voice cannot even call out your name
As my fear mounts higher to reach its peak
Like wild beasts of pain I can never tame
But in my darkness pray know that I seek
You my love to lift my head from its shame

 

©JG Farmer 2015

Form: Sonetto Rispetto 2

Copyrighted.com Registered & Protected  GIY2-166G-GQUI-CWVS

About Jez Farmer

I am a freelance writer and poet and started writing after raising my two boys as a way of discovering just who Jez is. That is still very much an on-going project but the journey so far has introduced me to many wonderful friends and fellow writers through an ever growing love of poetry.
This entry was posted in Challenge Responses, Dark, Form Poetry, Love, Poetry, Sonnets, Tir na nog and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for reading, your comments are much appreciated

