Bond


A shot of vodka mixed with gin
And vermouth shaken up
The drink to ease the day away
Found in glass not a cup

A slice of lemon for effect
Bitterness with a twist
Or cherries stabbed onto a stick
Or plain; let’s just get pissed.

The night is young my lips unkissed
And my heart’s yearning more
Not for a drink but for her love
The touch that I adore

The empty night drags on and on
My glass sits on the side
I gave my soul in to darkest night
With nothing left to hide

I’m shaken, stirred by words of love
My heart, it burns again
For her sweet kiss that holds me in
Love’s unbreakable chain

©JG Farmer 2015

Form: Ballad Stanza – http://thepoetsgarret.com/2011Challenge/form1.html

Copyrighted.com Registered & Protected  CMSA-TGU2-9PKP-LKJY

About Jez Farmer

I am a freelance writer and poet and started writing after raising my two boys as a way of discovering just who Jez is. That is still very much an on-going project but the journey so far has introduced me to many wonderful friends and fellow writers through an ever growing love of poetry.
This entry was posted in Ballad Stanza, Garret Poetry, Love, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for reading, your comments are much appreciated

