My Life in a Book


Question: : If you could write a book containing all that has happened and will ever happen in your life, would you?

I am not sure I could write my life story let alone read it. However, assuming I could, I am not sure anyone would want to read it.

As a writer I know I put aspects of me into what I write, especially my poetry therefore I do not think it would be particularly therapeutic to write my life story. That would be the key reason to write it.

I believe I would leave huge chunks of stuff out as they are of no interest to anyone, not even me. Certainly I would write about my transition, but I already do. My PTSD however, I am not sure I could at this time write that to such a depth it would achieve anything. Would I write a kiss-n-tell of my love life, no, that will always be a private and personal thing and I do not even put that in my diary.

There is also the fact in a reveal all life story it would mean exposing other people’s lives. It is a paradox as there are people I care about and would not want to bring the anguish of revelation to but there are also those I would not care if it did or not.

This is actually a difficult one to answer in a few minutes of free-writing as it does involve some moral questions. At this time I have to say the answer is almost a solid no.

 

© JG Farmer 2015

About Jez Farmer

I am a freelance writer and poet and started writing after raising my two boys as a way of discovering just who Jez is. That is still very much an on-going project but the journey so far has introduced me to many wonderful friends and fellow writers through an ever growing love of poetry.
This entry was posted in Article, Introspective and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for reading, your comments are much appreciated

