Celtic Astrology – Phases of the Moon

Rainbow Pagans UK


The Fire Festivals

The Fire festivals of Imbolg (Brigantia), Beltane, Lughnasadh (Lammas) and Samhain carry the ritualistic symbol of fire or spiritual light. This spiritual light is often identified with the mysterious light of the Moon. Therefore in astrology the four Fire festivals symbolize the four lunar phases and represent the quarter days even though using the lunar calendar they do not fall exactly on the mid-points between the Solstices and Equinoxes.

Quarter days mark a dissolution of boundaries between the physical and spiritual worlds and that of the natural and supernatural. The Fire festivals are essentially Earth festivals relating to the regeneration of the Earth’s forces with the mysterious aspect of the transformation of and transition between the seasons. As an aspect related to the feminine it is symbolically equated with the feminine Moon as opposed to the masculine aspect of the Sun.

Therefore the four seasons symbolically equate…

View original post 451 more words


About Jez Farmer

I am a freelance writer and poet and started writing after raising my two boys as a way of discovering just who Jez is. That is still very much an on-going project but the journey so far has introduced me to many wonderful friends and fellow writers through an ever growing love of poetry.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for reading, your comments are much appreciated

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s