21 The Crossing – Farewell Arina


The concluding episode of The Crossing. The whole story can be found here. My thanks to Al Forbes for providing some awesome prompts to inspire this tale.

During the second winter Arina’s health began to fail. It was shortly after my graduation from school when she collapsed that first time. Even the doctors put it down to the excitement of the day.

A few weeks earlier I had run to Loban and Arina with the news I had won a scholarship place at the state university at Coastwynne. Like any mother the pride shone from her eyes. Now as she lay in bed barely able to speak I am glad she knew,

As one year moved to the next I sat by her side only leaving so Loban could be with his wife. I would sit with Gai then always his arm draped across my shoulder and from that I would draw strength and comfort. Even so I would weep as my heart disintegrated inside me.

In the middle of January the doctor called once more. He came out of the bedroom and called us to the living room. His words struck us all dumb. “I am sorry there is nothing more I can do. She will not see tonight – you must say your goodbyes now!” A few short hours later she was gone.

In my goodbye I promised her I would get the education she so badly wanted me to have. Coastwynne was only a few miles away I could stay at home and be here for Loban and Gai. I do not know what they said as that is not for me to know.

After the funeral we placed her ashes in her garden, the garden she loved so much. In the fountain I placed a rose angel engraved with the word ‘Mum’.

Years later I sit here in her garden and feel her with me. It is just Gai and I now. My fingers touch the rose angels in the fountain as I look at my husband and smile – you knew about that too didn’t you Mum?

 

 

© JG Farmer 2015

Prompt: http://sundayphotofictioner.wordpress.com/2015/01/04/sunday-photo-fiction-january-4th-2015/

About Jez Farmer

I am a freelance writer and poet and started writing after raising my two boys as a way of discovering just who Jez is. That is still very much an on-going project but the journey so far has introduced me to many wonderful friends and fellow writers through an ever growing love of poetry.
This entry was posted in Al's Challenge, Challenge Responses, Flash Fiction, Introspective, Love, Serial, The Crossing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 21 The Crossing – Farewell Arina

  1. Emotionally tied to your writing…well done! I felt I was there with you!

Thank you for reading, your comments are much appreciated

