A Blast of Retro


As I walked in the front room my mind whirled back forty years. Can it be so long since I had stood in this room? Nothing had changed. The same carpet on the floor; the same old-fashioned sofa set in front of a telly hidden in a cabinet and that damn awful lava lamp set on top. Aunt Matilda never did have taste or a sense of style.

The dust of time had settled peacefully on the sideboard which was a gramophone and radio; once the height of technology now surpassed by iPods and cell phones. It all looked frightfully old and dated like a dinosaur out of time.

The last time I stood here I had been a teenager about to start my own life. Aunt Matilda had summoned me so she could present me with five pounds, her gift for my future as I came of age, As I remembered I felt guilty for my silent thoughts at that time; judging her surroundings and realising these were things she had chosen for her home just as I had chosen stuff for mine.

Oddly my own living room is similar as it expresses my love of all things retro. However I still hate bloody lava lamps.

 

© JG Farmer 2015

Prompt: http://sundayphotofictioner.wordpress.com/2014/08/24/sunday-photo-fiction-august-24th-2014/

About Jez Farmer

I am a freelance writer and poet and started writing after raising my two boys as a way of discovering just who Jez is. That is still very much an on-going project but the journey so far has introduced me to many wonderful friends and fellow writers through an ever growing love of poetry.
This entry was posted in Al's Challenge, Challenge Responses, Flash Fiction, Introspective and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for reading, your comments are much appreciated

