20 The Crossing – Searching for Answers


The next episode in the flash-fiction serial The Crossing

Photography by Al Forbes

 

I got home to a letter from my pen pal, Lynne, in England. Inside were photographs and postcards from her holiday, each numbered on the back so I could follow the descriptive within her letter.

There were the usual holiday snaps of children building sandcastles on the beach and tourist attractions. More interestingly there were pictures of things such as candy floss, plastic beach shoes and a seashell.

The one that intrigued me was the telescope situated on the promenade. In her descriptive she told me about her father. He had been in the navy and had spent long periods of time at sea away from his family. Lynne told me how as a child she would race to a telescope like the one in the picture; demand a coin from her mother so she could look out to sea to find her father.

I could relate to that searching and the need to find what we believe to be missing in our lives. Even as a child scraping on the streets for survival I had known pieces were missing from my life. I did not know what back then but I needed them anyway.

In Arina and Loban I had found parents, in Lynne I had found compassion and empathy, friendship and in Gai I had found… I don’t know; what is it I have found in Gai?

 

© JG Farmer 2014

Prompt: http://sundayphotofictioner.wordpress.com/2014/10/19/sunday-photo-fiction-october-19th-2014/

About Jez Farmer

I am a freelance writer and poet and started writing after raising my two boys as a way of discovering just who Jez is. That is still very much an on-going project but the journey so far has introduced me to many wonderful friends and fellow writers through an ever growing love of poetry.
This entry was posted in Al's Challenge, Flash Fiction, Introspective, Serial, The Crossing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for reading, your comments are much appreciated

