Secret Dreams


I wanted to drive the big red steam train
I wanted to fly a fighter jet plane
I wanted to set the world right again
But these were just dreams and answered by pain
I wished to play rugby on the sports field
The soldier carrying victory’s shield
More secrets that could never be revealed
And through the years these hurts remained congealed
Yet answers were right there inside the dreams
And hidden beneath the unwanted screams
The swirling chaos of a sleepless night
That kept the truth away out of my sight
But gave me the reasons to stand and fight
So that my heart at last can see the light.

© JG Farmer 2014

Form: Pope John XXXIII Sonnet

Copyrighted.com Registered & Protected  V1P4-VNEC-JSIA-EV29

About Jez Farmer

I am a freelance writer and poet and started writing after raising my two boys as a way of discovering just who Jez is. That is still very much an on-going project but the journey so far has introduced me to many wonderful friends and fellow writers through an ever growing love of poetry.
This entry was posted in Introspective, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for reading, your comments are much appreciated

