They’re Coming…


I normally use Al’s fiction prompt for one of my serials of flash fiction but this week is slightly different.

Check out Sunday’s Photo Fiction prompts and join in the fun.

Photography by Al Forbes

 

The dark nights had started closing in tighter and tighter. Winter was but a stone’s throw away. The air tasted of fear and anticipation. I knew they were coming and there was nothing I could do about it.

Each time the door rattled to the thump of the brass knocker I could taste the fear on my tongue. I’d answer the door and it wouldn’t be them instead a cold caller desperately trying to flog double glazing stood on my doorstep.

I wished they’d just come, get it over with.

The calendar seemed to glow on the date – today was the day. No chance of escaping it. Their paraphernalia was in every shop window like a warning sign. As the sunset the street took on a deathly silence. A cold wind left its chill on the crushed autumn leaves. And the whispers of smoke from the chimney stacks seemed hauntingly still before fading to nothing. I knew they were coming.

‘RAP, RAP! The old brass knocker slammed into the wooden door. My heart pounding I turned the key. RAP! RAP! RAP! They were not prepared to wait any longer as I opened the door to their evil wails and screams –

‘Trick or Treat!’

 

© JG Farmer 2014

About Jez Farmer

I am a freelance writer and poet and started writing after raising my two boys as a way of discovering just who Jez is. That is still very much an on-going project but the journey so far has introduced me to many wonderful friends and fellow writers through an ever growing love of poetry.
This entry was posted in Al's Challenge, Challenge Responses, Dark, Flash Fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to They’re Coming…

  1. Al says:

    Hahaha brilliant 😀

Thank you for reading, your comments are much appreciated

