A Biography


A Biography

 

In the summer of 1984 we kissed
as diesel trains huffed and puffed
through Southampton Central station.
Just a stone’s throw away
stood the walls of instruction
where once our innocence met
with foreboding.
I wish I had known then.

In the late spring of 1980 my heart fell
into the pleasures of teenage love.
Those lips that sung smoky jazz, I tasted
as fell in love but infatuated thoughts
knew it wouldn’t last.

Christmas holidays of 1982 and Si’s party was heaving
with new age romance, drugs
and alcohol. I kissed her in the swirls
of ganja smoke but we both kept
our secrets. Nothing was real.

Another summer, and still 1982,
we kissed farewell in front of the ferry boats
that sailed in to our future horizons.
We didn’t ask would we meet again.

Bells declared a new millennium
and we danced to the jazz rhythm.
I knew I loved you!
The old man waved farewell as we flew
to our destiny.

In the fading sun of an autumnal day of 1985
we kissed in Trafalgar Square
after strolling and holding hands in corridors
of classic art.
I watched you dance in the garden
and after I said ‘I love you’
like it was the first time.

I still had the letter you sent me in 1984
you had passed the audition
and would I come see you dance
on the stage of Covent Garden.
The phone calls late at night as you cried
your feet aching from the long rehearsals
but I knew you lived for dance.

In November 1990 we sat in the rain
writing post cards from Central Park.
We kissed, my old guitar slung across my back
I sang and you danced on the eve
of your Broadway debut.

Berlin was cold in the winter of 1993
but mulled wine kept our lips warm enough
to embrace our passion. The TV flickered unnoticed
as we lost the memories of that last minute shopping.

And that awful day in 2001, I knew
it would come, one last kiss that ripped me apart.
Your lips so cold but to me divine and I knew
you would dance with stars forever
and always in my heart.

 

© JG Farmer 2014

 

Copyrighted.com Registered & Protected  QTK5-A0DG-RK3N-YMT5

About Jez Farmer

I am a freelance writer and poet and started writing after raising my two boys as a way of discovering just who Jez is. That is still very much an on-going project but the journey so far has introduced me to many wonderful friends and fellow writers through an ever growing love of poetry.
This entry was posted in Love, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Biography

  1. segmation says:

    What beautiful art!

Thank you for reading, your comments are much appreciated

