The Crossing 16: Brothers


The next installment in the flash fiction series The Crossing

Photography by Al Forbes

Since our walk in the forest, Arina made sure we spent time each evening just talking. Sometimes Gai and Loban would join us.

One evening Arina, Gai and I were in the garden planting out seedlings around Arina’s fountain. The conversation was light and easy. Suddenly Arina was silent, too silent.

I rushed to her side and followed her gaze into the shrubs. There hidden in the years of twig growth was a shell of a ball. I knelt beside her and held her close. The grief in her eyes said it all.

Gai went to fetch Loban and as he saw the patches of red and black I saw a tear fall down his cheek. “Gai get that out of there” he said sharply. As Gai retrieved the remains of the ball Loban and I guided Arina back into the house.

When Gai came back inside I stood to leave the couple to their memories, it seemed the right thing to do. Arina on the other hand was having none of it. “I want you both to sit down with us”. So we sat. “Malo and Dal would have been your brothers she said firmly, it is only right you know about them”

We spent the evening listening to Loban and Arina’s memories and looking at the pictures of Malo and Dal as they grew up. I wish I had known them.

 

© JG Farmer 2014

Prompt: http://sundayphotofictioner.wordpress.com/2014/07/20/sunday-photo-fiction-july-20th-2014/

About Jez Farmer

I am a freelance writer and poet and started writing after raising my two boys as a way of discovering just who Jez is. That is still very much an on-going project but the journey so far has introduced me to many wonderful friends and fellow writers through an ever growing love of poetry.
This entry was posted in Al's Challenge, Challenge Responses, Flash Fiction, Introspective, Serial, The Crossing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for reading, your comments are much appreciated

