The Crossing 12: Letters


The twelfth installment of  The Crossing

 

Photography by Al Forbes

 

At school to improve my writing the tutor suggested I write a letter. I had carefully composed a letter of introduction to no one in particular. The tutor had seemed pleased with the result and took my photograph and I had forgotten all about it.

A few months later Gai and I were working out – he had kept his promise to help me build some muscle but it was a slow process. Having said that it had only been a few weeks and I could feel a difference even if I could not see it. Arina called out ‘Kip! Kip! You have got a letter!’

I looked at Gai, ‘Who’d write to me?’

‘Only one way to find out!’

I pulled a sweatshirt on, mid-October and the cold winds of winter were on their way. I went into the kitchen and Arina looked at me, holding the letter out. ‘It’s from England!’ she said. I think she was as excited by that as I was if not more so.

‘I don’t know anyone in England.’

I looked at the envelope. It was pale airmail paper, neatly written in black ink. On the back was a lady’s name and address of somewhere called Hampshire. I opened it carefully. My tutor had sent my introduction letter to a pen pal organisation and this lady, Lynne, had chosen me to write to. She had included pictures of herself, her husband and their baby son.

Linda worked for a charity which was supporting refugees who had escaped from the System. They knew about that in England, did the whole world know?

 

© JG Farmer 2014

 

Prompt: http://sundayphotofictioner.wordpress.com/2014/06/22/sunday-photo-fiction-june-22nd-2014/

About Jez Farmer

I am a freelance writer and poet and started writing after raising my two boys as a way of discovering just who Jez is. That is still very much an on-going project but the journey so far has introduced me to many wonderful friends and fellow writers through an ever growing love of poetry.
This entry was posted in Al's Challenge, Challenge Responses, Flash Fiction, Serial, The Crossing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Crossing 12: Letters

  1. Al says:

    Excellent 🙂

Thank you for reading, your comments are much appreciated

