Hey Boss, I’m a Dude


Some Assembly Required

tumblr_n76w9k1ZIF1tbx7hqo1_500

Another issue that can be problematic for the Trans person is work life. How does living out impact on work and working relationships.

As a self-employed person it could be said I never had to come out at work and yes that is somewhat true as I have never had to go through the anxiety of telling my boss or work mates. However I do have an agent, a publisher and people who read my work. Being openly gay as a writer was in fact more of a hindrance and it certainly did not make the process a palatable one.

My agent was none too happy to say the least as he had focused on the ‘lesbian writer’ label. Not something I ever wanted as I feel sexuality, gender and what we do to make a living are all separate things and he knew this. This was my first real…

View original post 341 more words

About Jez Farmer

I am a freelance writer and poet and started writing after raising my two boys as a way of discovering just who Jez is. That is still very much an on-going project but the journey so far has introduced me to many wonderful friends and fellow writers through an ever growing love of poetry.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for reading, your comments are much appreciated

